'BISEXUAL CLAIM NOT TRUE' - J'cans bash recent survey report
PAULA GORDON, Staff Reporter
Several Jamaicans are questioning the credibility of a recent study that claims that one in every four Caribbean men is a bisexual.
The online study conducted by the Caribbean Men's Internet Survey (CARIMIS) has become the hot topic on the lips of many persons since yesterday and has sparked some level of controversy.
About 2,560 men are said to have participated throughout 33 territories. This would possibly mean that the survey included men from Jamaica as well.
questioned credibility
Though the findings are preliminary, it was revealed that 15 per cent of those surveyed said they had sex with men but gave no labels, such as homosexual or bisexual to their acts.
Subsequent to the news being broken about the study, our news team sought to get some comments from several Jamaicans.
A number of the persons interviewed questioned its credibility and the sampling methods used.
Kirk Thomas, a bank employee, told THE STAR, "I don't believe in that survey because it doesn't identify the territories examined, ... one in every four ... my crew consist of 13 and mi sure I am not bisexual and none of my friends are so I can't agree with that survey."
Andrew Henry, a taxi man, expressed, "I know about myself, I don't think it is right. I think they did that survey down in the Lesser Antilles."
Interestingly, the gripping results have also resulted in numerous comments being left on Facebook.
Several males blasted the group that carried out the study on the social networking site.
One male wrote, "Lol ... these statistics are so dumb, would love to know how they came up with this ... The truth is we don't know squat, could be even more or less or not at all ... Personally I don't even accept it one out of four ... Come on."
Another wrote, "Not Jamaica ... Don't mix we up ... ."
On the other hand, several women proved to be more receptive to the findings.
One woman said, "Is true! Unno man is in denial"
In the meantime, THE STAR understands that the project, which was launched in November last year, was funded by the UNAIDS, the joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS.
It is expected that the results will be handed over to regional governments in short order.